The International Positive and Negative Affect Schedule Short Form, I-PANAS-SF

How Can We Help?
< Back
You are here:

The I-PANAS-SF, developed by Edmund Thompson, is a shortened, 10-item version of the original PANAS scale. The I-PANAS-SF, like its predecessor, yields two distinct scores: Positive Affect (PA) and Negative Affect (NA). However, the I-PANAS-SF is more concise, featuring a reduced number of items while maintaining its reliability and validity.

The validated scale consists of two 5-item mood scales: one for positive affect (e.g. active, inspired) and one for negative affect (e.g. afraid, nervous). Participants self-report the extent they experienced each mood state, allowing easy snapshot measurements of key attitudinal dimensions.

Unlike lengthier assessments, the brevity of the I-PANAS-SF is particularly advantageous for busy athletes and coaches, allowing for regular assessments without a significant time commitment. This enhancement in efficiency makes I-PANAS-SF a valuable update for those looking to integrate psychological assessments seamlessly into their training routines.

SELFLOOPS has integrated the International Positive and Negative Affect Schedule Short Form (I-PANAS-SF) on the website and smartphone applications.

You can find more info in 0ur blog post.

Previous The Positive and Negative Affect Schedule (PANAS) 
Next The Brunel Mood Scale (BRUMS)
Table of Contents